Canipe Jr. On A Roll With Third Win at Hickory Motor Speedway

(June 20th 2015) - The NASCAR Whelen All-American Series returned to the Birthplace of the NASCAR Stars on Matt DiBenedetto Night at the Races. The Sprint Cup competitor would be on hand to sign autographs at the track that helped springboard his career. Also on hand this week from NASCAR's premier division would be Matt McCall, crew chief for Jamie McMurray.

Starting off the night's racing action would be the Street Stocks for the first of their Twin 20 lap races. Dan Moore in the #22 would start from the pole after setting fast time in qualifying. Moore would face challenges from the #31 of Wayne Edwards and the #18 of Cody DeMarmels. Moore would beat the competition to the Checkered Flag and take the win with Edwards 2 nd and DeMarmels 3 rd . Rounding out the top 5 would be the #03 of Kevin Eby and the #64 of Marshall Sutton.

Next up would be the mighty 4-Cylinders. Fast-timer Eddie Gilbert in the #00 would start from the pole in the 25 lap feature. Gilbert would face challenges from the #16 of Michael Tucker and the #09 of Randy Canipe. Canipe would eventually take the top spot from Gilbert and hold him off for the trip to Victory Lane. Gilbert would hold on for 2 nd and Tucker for 3 rd . Dennis Trivette in the #28 and Rob Lewis in the #98 would round out the top 5.

The 35 lap feature for the T-Mobile Limited Late Models would be next up on the schedule. The #77 of Travis Byrd would start from the pole after leading the field in qualifying and Monty Cox in the #21 would start to his outside. Byrd and Cox would battle side by side for several laps before Byrd would finally grab the top spot. A caution with 5 to go bunched up the field for one final restart but Byrd would hold on make and grab his 4 th win of the season. Cox would hold on for 2 nd in a photo finish with Mark Johnson in the #13, who would end up 3 rd . Jeremy Pelfrey in the #51 and Anthony Alfredo in the #15 would grab positions 4 & 5.

The Street Stocks would roll off next with the 2 nd of their Twin 20 lap features. Dan Moore in the #22 would once again start from the pole and would drive on to the win. Wayne Edwards in the #31 would pressure early but would have to settle for 3 rd . The #18 of Cody DeMarmels would fall out of the competition when he broke a driveshaft while battling in the top 3. Mark Whitten in the #3, Kevin Eby in the #03, and Larry Mosher in the #2 would round out the top 5.

Finishing out the night would be the Bojangles Late Models and their 75 lap feature. Dexter Canipe Jr. in the #5 would set the fast time and start from the pole, with Shane Lee in the #00 to his outside, the #25 of Matt Piercy would start from the inside of row 2, and Landon Huffman in the #75 would finish out row 2. Canipe and Lee would battle side by side for several laps until Canipe would finally take the top spot. Behind the front pair would be a good side-by-side battle between 1 st and 2 nd in the points, Piercy and Huffman. Huffman would make the pass and keep the 3 rd spot early. Piercy would pressure Huffman and eventually grab the 3 rd spot back. Canipe would go on to hold off Lee and make it 3 wins out of the last 4 races, while Lee would hold on for 2 nd . Piercy would settle for the 3 rd finishing position and Huffman would take 4 th . Sprint Cup crew chief, Matt McCall, on a rare week off from his duties with Jamie McMurray, would start from the rear of the field but work his way up to grab a 5 th place finish.

The Paramount Kia “Big 10” Challenge returns next week with Round #7 for the Bojangles Late Models on Frye Regional Breast Cancer Awareness Night presented by T-Mobile. The Bojangles Late Models will do battle for 100 laps, T-Mobile Limited Late Models 35 laps, Smokey's Super Trucks 35 laps, Street Stocks 30 laps, and Wrench Rags Renegades 20 laps. Make sure you stay after the racing action is finished as we will have a spectacular Fireworks display!

Gates open at 4:45pm, Qualifying at 5pm, Autograph Session at 6pm, Racing at 7pm, with Fireworks to follow all the racing action.
Tickets are only $11 Adults, $9 Teens/Seniors, and Children 12 & Under FREE!

Check us out at www.hickorymotorspeedway , FB, and Twitter.


Hickory Motor Speedway Unofficial Results 6/20/15

Late Models:

1 #5 Dexter Canipe

2 #00 Shane Lee

3 #25 Matt Piercy

4 #75 Landon Huffman

5 #51 Matt McCall

6 #25 Kate Dallenbach

7 #88 Mark Johnson

8 #9 Charlie Watson

Limited Late Models:

1 #77 Travis Byrd

2 #21 Monty Cox

3 #13 Mark Johnson

4 #51 Jeremy Pelfrey

5 #15 Anthony Alfredo

6 #07 Hayden Humphrey

7 #2 Bradley Weaver

8 #29 Mitch Walker

9 #05 Danny Chafin

10 #56 Anthony Miller

11 #43 Greg Wise

12 #10 Derek Kale

Street Stocks Twin #1:

1 #22 Dan Moore

2 #31 Wayne Edwards

3 #18 Cody DeMarmels

4 #03 Kevin Eby

5 #64 Marshall Sutton

6 #2 Larry Mosher

7 #3 Mark Whitten

8 #32 David Harrell

9 #16 Carroll McKinney

10 #23 Brendan Doyle

11 #10 Ethan Johnson

Street Stocks Twin #2:

1 #22 Dan Moore

2 #31 Wayne Edwards

3 #3 Mark Whitten

4 #03 Kevin Eby

5 #2 Larry Mosher

6 #64 Marshall Sutton

7 #16 Carroll McKinney

8 #32 David Harrell

9 #23 Brendan Doyle

10 #10 Ethan Johnson

11 #18 Cody DeMarmels

4 Cylinders:

1 #09 Randy Canipe

2 #16 Michael Tucker

3 #28 Dennis Trivette

4 #98 Rob Lewis

5 #17 Curtis Pardue

6 #07 Philip McLean

7 #79 Crystal Davis

8 #11 Robert Trivette

9 #6 Rodney Trivette

10 #00 Eddie Gilbert DQ


Close Window