Canipe Jr. takes the Checkered on Whelen Night at Races

(May 30th 2015) - An unusually warm May day greeted the fans and competitors at Hickory Motor Speedway on Whelen Night at the races. The racing action would see battles fought throughout the field in each and every race.

Starting out the night would be the Sportsman Racing Classics and their vintage cars. Bob Hapeman in the #8 would draw the pole position with the #16 of Bill Webb to his outside. The pair would battle early with Hapeman taking the lead until Webb would reel him in and make the pass. A late race spin by Hapeman would bring the #95 of Eddie Gilbert into the mix and on the restart he would take the top spot. But the lead was short lived as Webb would make the move past Gilbert and into Victory Lane. Gilbert, who normally runs in the 4-Cylinder division, would make a great showing in his first start in the classic V8 division by holding on for 2 nd . Don Fenn in the #2 would start shotgun on the field but would work his way to 3 rd . Hapeman would battle back for 4 th and the #4 of Larry Benz would come home 5 th .

Next out would be the always exciting T-Mobile Limited Late Models. Jeremy Pelfrey in the #51 would pace qualifying and lead the field to the green flag. Jake Ruggles in the #29 would start to Pelfrey's outside, Monty Cox in the #21 and the #27 of Coy Beard would make up row two. Pelfrey would take the lead on the start and have clear sailing for the first 9 laps until a caution would bunch the field. On the restart Cox would get by Pelfrey and take the lead while the battle raged, sometimes three wide, throughout the field. Another caution would bunch the field with a multi car accident in Turn 1 and the ensuing restart would see the #13 of Mark Johnson make his way to the front of the pack. Johnson would hold on for the win with the #77 of Travis Byrd working his way to 2 nd . Cox would hold on for a hard fought 3 rd , Ruggles and the #19 of Adam Congrove would round out the top 5.

The Street Stocks would be the next to hit the track with fast-timer Charlie Neill in the #2 starting at the front with the #23 of Brendan Doyle to his outside. Neill would jump to the early lead and eventually take the checkers once again as the battles for position would stay behind him. The #18 of Cody DeMarmels would start in the back of the field but wouldn't stay there long as he would fight his way all the way back to 2 nd . Larry Mosher in the #2, Marshall Sutton in the #64, and the #3 of Mark Whitten would round out the top 5.

The Bojangles Late Models would hit the track for their feature with Dexter Canipe Jr. in the #5 setting the pace in qualifying and the #00 of Shane Lee to his outside. Landon Huffman in the #75 and the #25 of Matt Piercy would round out row two. Canipe would grab the early lead as Huffman would use the preferred inside line to get by Lee. Lap 16 would see Piercy and the #22 of Dan Moore get together and bring out the first caution ending the night for Moore. On the restart Canipe would face a challenge by Huffman but would retain the top spot as the laps started to count down. Canipe would drive on to his first win of the 2015 season while Huffman would bring his ride home in 2 nd . Lee, Piercy, and the #5 of Wes Burton would round out the top 5.

Finishing out the night would be the Smokey's Super Trucks. The #36 of Tyler Dayton would set the top lap for the trucks with Sheflon Clay in the #15 to his outside. Dayton would grab the early lead as the battle for position raged behind him, and once again we would see three wide racing. Dayton would hold off the field for his first win at Hickory Motor Speedway with Clay having another strong run in 2 nd . The #7 of Ryan Glenski, the #77 of Tal Davidson, and the #09 of Dakota Ratcliff would round out the top 5.

Join us next week at the Birthplace of the NASCAR Stars as the NWAAS returns with another Hot Night of Racing featuring The NASCAR Whelen All American Series Bojangles Late Models, T-Mobile Limiteds, Street Stocks, 4-Cylinders, and the Wrench Rags Renegades will all have feature races.
Gates open at 4:45pm, Qualifying at 5pm, and Racing at 7pm.
Tickets are only $11 Adults, $9 Teens/Seniors, and Children 12 & under FREE!


Hickory Motor Speedway Results 5/30/15:

Bojangles Late Models:

1  #5 Dexter Canipe Jr.

2 #75 Landon Huffman

3  #00 Shane Lee

4 #25 Matt T. Piercy

5  #5 Wes Burton

6  #22 Dan Moore


T-Mobile Limited Late Models:

1 #13 Mark Johnson

2  #77 Travis Byrd

3  #21 Monty Cox

4  #29 Jake Ruggles

5  #19 Adam Congrove

6  #48 Spencer Boyd

7  #34 Pat Rachels

8  #51 Jeremy Pelfrey

9  #29 Mitch Walker

10 #27 Coy Beard

11  #2 Zach Bruenger

12  #07 Hayden Humphrey

13  #43 Greg Wise

14  #14 Ryan Repko

15  #14 Brandon Cox

Street Stocks:

1  #2 Charlie Neill

2 #18 Cody DeMarmels

3  #2 Larry Mosher

4  #64 Marshall Sutton

5  #3 Mark Whitten

6  #03 Kevin Eby

7  #23 Brandan Doyle

7 #69 Trey Buff

8  #32 David Harrell

9 #74 Kim Smith

Smokey's Super Trucks:

1  #36 Tyler Dayton

2  #15 Sheflon Clay

3  #7 Ryan Glenski

4  #77 Tal Davidson

5  #09 Dakota Ratcliff

6  #45 Tanner Long

7  #25 Allen Huffman

8  #15 Zach Hale

9  #05 Tony Black

10  #10 Lee Queen

Classic Sportsman Racing:

1  #16 Bill Webb

2 #95 Eddie Gilbert

3  #2 Don Fenn

4  #8 Robert Hapemen

5  #4 Larry Benz

6  #90 Dennis Hinkle

7  #83 Tom Fenn

8  #71 Bill Powell

Close Window