McDaniel Takes The Checkered Flag

With A Close Race For Second

NEWTON, N.C. (May 5, 2012) Clouds piled into the sky around the speedway as fans poured into the stands for an exciting night of racing at Hickory Motor Speedway. The Bojangles Late Models kicked the racing up with ten laps to go. Jesse LeFevers seemed to be the winner until he got lose in turns three and four, allowing the rest of the top five to slip by him. Austin McDaniel would bring home the victory, but first a look at the other exciting races of the night.

A jam packed evening of racing kicked off with the 4-Cylinder event. Todd Harrington in the No. 21 led the field to the green flag and would take the checkered flag first, leading all 25 laps. Caleb Sisk in the No. 6 finished second with Rob Lewis in the No. 98 rounding out the top three.

The Paramount KIA Limited Late Models took to the track as the second race of the evening. In her first start at Hickory Motor Speedway of the 2012 season Annabeth Barnes in the No. 12 took the pole.

The first caution on the night came out in turn two when the No. 95 of Michael Buckner spun around. On lap 30, the yellow flew for the second time for Barnes in turn four. Although Jason Crouse in the No. 28 took the green flag, another caution flew on lap 30, this time for another spin in turn two. The No. 07 of Jacob Marlowe was able to drive away from the accident under his own power.

Two laps later the caution waved yet again. Zach Bruenger in the No. 55 spun coming out of turn two. On lap 33, the yellow flag appeared for the No. 22 of Dan Moore on the back stretch. This final caution of the race set the leaders up for a green-white-checkered finish. Crouse brought home the victory with the No. 51 of Jeremy Pelfrey coming in second. Travis Byrd rounded out the top three.

Kevin Townsend in the No. 9 brought the field to the green flag for the WrenchRags Street Stock race. The only caution of the event flew when the No. 15 of David Werner blew up coming out of turn four. Townsend would lead all 30 laps of the event and finish first. Roy Smith in the No. 99 finished second and the No. 03 of Kevin Eby brought home third.

The Bojangles Late Models took to the track with the No. 19 of Kyle Moon on leading the field to the green flag. On the first lap, Jesse LeFevers in the No. 43 went to the inside of Moon, fighting him for the lead and taking the position before lap two was completed. At halfway, LeFevers still held the lead, but the second half would tell a different story.

On lap 30, the caution flag came out for an accident on the backstretch involving the No. 1 of Pietro Fittipaldi. A lap later, the yellow flew again for the No. 11 of Matt Piercy spinning out of turn two. At lap 32 caution waved for the No. 51 of Josh Wimbish spinning on the backstretch. Lap 34 saw another yellow flag for a spin on the backstretch for the No. 8 of Chandler LeVon. The yellow flag came out one more time for Grant Wimbish in the No. 57 spinning out of turn one.

In the final few laps, LeFevers would lose the lead and numerous other positions. Austin McDaniel in the No 12 took the checkered flag. Trey Gibson in the No. 2 finished a close second with the No. 9 of Dexter Canipe Jr. finishing third.

Carroll McKinney brought the Red Baron Renegades to the green flag for their 20 lap event. The yellow flag flew on lap six for the No. 7 of Barney Annette coming out of turn four. McKinney would take the checkered flag first with Mark Sullivan in the No. 95 finishing second and the No. 14 of Eddie Russ finishing third.

On May 12 the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series will take to the track. That nights' races will include the Bojangles Late Models, Paramount KIA Limited Late Models, WrenchRags Street Stocks, Super Trucks and Hobby Stocks. Gates will open at 5:00 p.m. with qualifying immediately following. An On-Track Autograph Session begins at 6 p.m., with feature racing action at 7 p.m. For more details visit
Hickory Motor Speedway
Unofficial Results

Bojangles Late Model

1. (12) Austin McDaniel

2. (2) Trey Gibson

3. (9X) Dexter Canipe Jr.

4. (43) Jesse LeFevers

5. (19) Kyle Moon

6. (77) Jeremy Sorel

7. (7) Ashley Huffman

8. (51) Josh Wimbish

9. (1) Pietro Fittipaldi

10. (8) Chandler LeVan

11. (89) Sean Shalvoy

12. (7X) Taylor Stricklin

13. (4) Mackena Bell

14. (11) Matt Piercy

15. (67) Jacob Harrell

16. (11X) Davide Amaduzzi

17. (57) Grant Wimbish

WrenchRag Street Stocks

1. (9) Kevin Townsend

2. (99) Roy Smith

3. (03) Kevin Eby

4. (64) Marshall Sutton

5. (5) Mike Newton

6. (14) Samuel Thompson

7. (51 X) John Jones

8. (69) Trey Buff

9. (15) David Werner

Paramount KIA Limited Late Models

1. (28) Jason Crouse

2. (51) Jeremy Pelfrey

3. (7) Travis Byrd

4 (00) Shane Lee

5. (07) Jacob Marlowe

6. (55) Zachary Bruenger

7. (22) Dan Moore

8. (5) Christian Calvo

9. (15) Sheflon Clay

10. (22X) Kenneth R. Pardue

11. (95) Michael Buckner

12. (18) Casey Pierce

13. (12) Annabeth Barnes

14. (07M) Jacob Marlowe

15. (21) Monty Cox

16. (9) Charlie Watson (DNS)

17. (69X) Carlos Ialonelli (DNS)

Red Baron Renegades

1.(95) Mark Sullivan

2. (14) Eddie Russ

3. (64) Darby Crouch

4. (4) Gregory Austin

5. (17) Barney Anette

6 .(71) Andrew Divanna

7. (7) Brad Nelson

8. (68) Steve Griffih

9. (16) Carroll McKinney - Failed post race inspection

4 Cylinders

1. (21) Todd Harrington

2. (6) Caleb Sisk

3. (98) Rob Lewis

4. (59) Donn Wardo

5. (51) Nathaniel Kanupp

6. (3) Donnie Harmon


Close Window