(Hickory, N.C. August 13, 2011) Rain showers early in the afternoon delayed track activities, but racing began on time as the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series returned for another week at Hickory Motor Speedway. Jesse LeFevers put in a dominating performance winning for the eighth time this season. Pietro Fittipaldi took home his third win in the Limited Late Model division while Jason Crouse (Super Truck), Clint Fields (Super Truck) and Dan Moore (Street Stock) won in their respective divisions.

The No. 43 of Jesse LeFevers had a strong run in the Bojangles Late Model division, leading the race from start-to-finish and taking home his eighth win of the season. The No. 12 of Austin McDaniel worked hard, trying to gain ground on LeFevers throughout the race, but was unable to get close enough to challenge for the lead. The No. 5 of Dexter Canipe Jr. faced pressure from the No. 19 of Kyle Moon early in the race, but held onto the fourth position. Jesse LeFevers took home the checkered with Austin McDaniel in second and Grant Wimbish in third.

In the Limited Late Model division, the No. 90 of Pietro Fittipaldi scored his third win of the season. Fittipaldi led the field to the green flag and was quickly pressured by the No. 7 of Tyler Church. Church ran the outside line throughout much of the race, working on Fittipaldi for the lead. The first caution of the night fell on lap two as the No. 18 of Casey Pierce made contact with the No. 21 of Monty Cox. After the restart, the top three drivers broke away from the rest of the field with Church still working on Fittipaldi for the lead as the No. 11 of Matt Piercy sat back in third. The caution fell on lap 18 with the No. 69 of Trevor Hignutt spinning after making contact with the No. 23 of Trey Marcham. Four laps later, the two drivers made contact again, bringing out the third caution of the race. On the restart, the final caution of the night immediately fell as the No. 12 of Annabeth Barnes and the No. 11 of Matt Piercy made contact in turn one. Pietro went on to take the checkered flag with Tyler Church in second and the No. 51 of Travis Byrd in third.

The No. 16 of Clint Fields led the Super Truck division to their first race of the night, but relinquished his lead to the No. 28 of Jason Crouse on lap one. Fields pressured Crouse throughout the race, but could not make the pass. Meanwhile, the No. 5 of Tyler Hudson worked on the inside of the No. 33 of Jeremy Birch for fourth position. On lap 22, Hudson took over fourth, settling in behind the No. 09 of Mark Johnson in third. Jason Crouse won the race with Clint Fields in second and Mark Johnson in third.

In the second Super Truck feature, Jason Crouse led the field to the green flag. His lead was short-lived as Clint Fields took the lead in turn two. Caution fell on lap 11 with the No. 11 of Thomas Beane the only car involved. The field settled into position after the restart with Fields going on to take the checkered flag, followed by Crouse in second and Johnson in third.

The No. 03 of Kevin Eby led the Street Stocks to the green flag and faced pressure early-on from the No. 5 of Mike Newton and the No. 22 of Dan Moore. Moore made the pass for first on lap six and held onto the lead for the rest of the night. The No. 21 of Roger Pitts II was a man on a mission, passing Newton for third and then quickly taking over the second spot on lap 16. The No. 10 of Kevin Townsend followed suit, also passing Newton for the third spot on lap 20.

Racing resumes next Saturday, August 20 th with Twin 50-lap features for the Bojangles Late Models. Also making appearances are the Limited Late Models, Street Stocks, WrenchRag 4-Cylinders and the Red Baron Renegades.

Unofficial NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Race Results


Bojangles Late Model 50-lap feature

  1. (43) Jesse LeFevers
  2. (12) Austin McDaniel
  3. (57) Grant Wimbish
  4. (5) Dexter Canipe Jr.
  5. (35) Devin Jones
  6. (19) Kyle Moon
  7. (4) Mackena Bell
  8. (51) Rebecca Kaston
  9. (3) Jorge Arteaga
  10. (15) Shawn Sharkey
  11. (26) Nelson Canache
  12. (5) Juan Carlos Blum
  13. (2) Nick Waycaster

Limited Late Model 35-lap feature

  1. (90) Pietro Fittipaldi
  2. (07) Tyler Church
  3. (51) Travis Byrd
  4. (69) Trevor Hignutt
  5. (01) Amber Colvin
  6. (09) Houston Smith
  7. (15) Sheflon Clay
  8. (21) Monty Cox
  9. (12) Annabeth Barnes
  10. (71) Andres Guevara
  11. (11) Matt Piercy
  12. (23) Trey Marcham
  13. (18) Casey Pierce

Super Truck 25-lap feature #1

  1. (28) Jason Crouse
  2. (16) Clint Fields
  3. (09) Mark Johnson
  4. (5) Tyler Hudson
  5. (33) Jeremy Birch
  6. (11) Thomas Beane

Super Truck 25-lap feature #2

  1. (16) Clint Fields
  2. (28) Jason Crouse
  3. (09) Mark Johnson
  4. (33) Jeremy Birch
  5. (11) Thomas Beane
  6. (5) Tyler Hudson

Street Stock 30-lap feature

  1. (22) Dan Moore
  2. (21) Roger Pitts II
  3. (10) Kevin Townsend
  4. (5) Mike Newton
  5. (03) Kevin Eby
  6. (11) Cooper Faassen
  7. (14) Sam Thompson
  8. (64) Marshall Sutton
  9. (51) Dustin Walker
  10. (99) Roy Smith
  11. (84) Jared Broadbent
  12. (17) Baron Kuritzky

Close Window