Canipe Jr. Captures First Late Model Win Of The Season

By: Laura Finley


(Hickory, N.C. June 4, 2011) Fans packed the grandstands at Hickory Motor Speedway to watch an intense night of racing during Paramount Auto Group Night at the races. Dexter Canipe Jr. took the checkered flag in the first Twin 50-lap Late Model race of the night, capturing his first win in the Late Model series. Jesse LeFevers put in another dominating performance to claim his fourth victory of the season in the second Late Model race which closed the night. While Travis Byrd (Limited Late Models), Daryl Mason (Mini Cup Karts), Roger Pitts II (Street Stocks) and Todd Harrington (4-Cylinders) all took the checkered flag in each of their respective divisions.

The No. 3 of Jessica Brunelli led the field to the green flag, kicking of Paramount Auto Group Night at the races in the first 50-lap Bojangles Late Model feature. The first and only caution flag flew before the first lap of the race could be completed as a result of contact between the No. 7 of Taylor Stricklin and the No. 88 of Josh Wright. Racing resumed with the No. 57 of Grant Wimbish taking over the lead from Brunelli on Lap 2. The second lead change took place on Lap 17 after LeFevers worked his way through the field, taking over the first position. A battle for second followed with Canipe Jr. moving to the inside of Wimbish and overtaking him on Lap 29. Moon followed suite, surging past Wimbish to take over the third position. LeFevers pulled away from the field and remained uncontested until Lap 38 when Canipe Jr. powered past to take the lead. With the laps winding down, Canipe Jr. held off a late challenge by Moon, winning his first Bojangles Late Model race. Moon finished second followed by LeFevers, Wimbish and the No. 12 of Austin McDaniel.

The No. 21 of Todd Harrington led the caution-free Wrench Rags 4-Cylinders race from start to finish. After the green flag flew, the field settled into position behind Harrington with the No. 8 of Chandler LeVan taking the fourth position from the No. 51 of Nathaniel Kanupp on Lap 7. Harrington took the checkered flag with the No. 18 of Devon Haun finishing second followed by the No. 16 of Randy Freeze, LeVan and Kanupp.

The Limited Late Models race proved to be exciting early on, with a battle for position among the top 5 cars in the first few laps. The No. 90 of Pietro Fittipaldi took over second position on Lap 12 with the No. 11 of Matt Piercy following closely behind along The No. 00 of Hank Hefner spun on the front stretch during Lap 32, bringing out a late race caution. Before another lap could be put on the board, the No. 12 of Annabeth Barnes spun on the backstretch bringing out the second caution of the night. Racing resumed, but was quickly stopped once again as a result of contact between the No. 72 of Jason Cochran and Church on Lap 33. This forced a green-white-checker shootout resulting in three-wide racing during the closing laps. Byrd took the checkered flag followed by Piercy, the No. 7 of Brian Kolb and Fittipaldi.

Following the conclusion of the Limited Late Models, the No. 22 of Dan Moore led the Street Stocks division to the green flag. He was immediately challenged by the No. 21 of Roger Pitts II who took the lead on Lap 1. A battle for third between the No. 03 Kevin Eby and the No. 64 of Marshall Sutton followed with Sutton falling back to fourth on Lap 9. Pitts continued to lead the field, capturing the checkered flag with Moore finishing second and Eby third.

The Mini Cup Karts made an appearance on Paramount Auto Group night with the No. 11 of Daryl Mason bringing the pack to the green flag. A battle for third quickly developed with the No. 88 of Tyler Baird taking the third position from the No. 18 of Steve Teter. The two drivers would continue to swap positions throughout the rest of the race. The only lead change occurred on Lap 4 with the No. 2 of Gerald Frybarger taking the lead from Mason. Frybarger captured the win with Mason following in second and Teter in third.

The excitement continued with the second Twin-50 Late Model Race closing the night. The No. 5 of Dexter Canipe Jr. captured the pole, but chose to give up his starting position and move to the back of the field in an effort to win a $1,500 purse. The No. 3 of Jessica Brunelli led the field to the green flag, but by Lap 25, the No. 7 of Ashley Huffman had powered into the first position. The first caution of the race occurred on Lap 30 with the No. 94 of Brad Cox and the No. 57 of Grant Wimbish spinning in Turn 4. Dexter Jr. had slowly navigated his way through the field, benefiting from the caution as he moved to the sixth position. Once the green flag flew, Huffman quickly began to fall off pace, relinquishing the lead to Moon on Lap 30. Back-to-back cautions resulted two laps later allowing McDaniel to restart first with Moon in second. The No. 43 of Jesse LeFevers was quick to pass Moon, continuing to drive hard as he later captured the first position on Lap 38. On Lap 45, Wright and the No. 15 of Shawn Sharkey were involved in the last caution of the night. Canipe Jr., moved into second after going three-wide with LeFevers and McDaniel. LeFevers was too fast, however, as Canipe Jr. fell short of the $1,500 purse, finishing second behind LeFevers. McDaniel finished third followed by Cox and Wimbish.

The action will continue next Saturday, June 11 with the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series presented by AT&T. The night will feature the Bojangles Late Models, Limited Late Models, Street Stocks, Red Baron Renegades and twin 25-lap features for the Super Trucks.


Official Results

Late Model Race #1:

1. #5 Dexter Canipe Jr.

2. #19 Kyle Moon

3. #43 Jesse LeFevers

4. #57 Grant Wimbish

5. #12 Austin McDaniel

6. #3 Jessica Brunelli

7. #88 Josh Wright

8. #15 Shawn Sharkey

9. #94 Brad Cox

10. #2 Mackena Bell

11. #7 Ashley Huffman

12. #7 Taylor Stricklin

13. #2 Nick Waycaster

Late Model Race #2:.

1. #43 Jesse LeFevers

2. #5 Dexter Canipe Jr.

3. #12 Austin McDaniel

4. #94 Brad Cox

5. #57 Grant Wimbish

6. #3 Jessica Brunelli

7. #2 Nick Waycaster

8. #7 Ashley Huffman

9. #7 Taylor Stricklin

10. #2 Mackena Bell

11. #19 Kyle Moon

12. #15 Shawn Sharkey

13. #88 Josh Wright

Limited Late Model 35-Lap Feature

1. (11) Matt Piercy

2. (7) Brian Kolb

3. (90) Pietro Fittapaldi

4. (72) Jason Cochran

5. (21) Monty Cox

6. (63) Christian Pahud

7. (07) Tyler Church

8. (15) Sheflon Clay

9. (00) Hank Hefner

10. (18) Casey Pierce

11. (12) Annabeth Barnes

12. (09) Mark Johnson

13. (9) Charlie Watson

14. (66) Travis Byrd *

*Disqualified after failure to pass post-race technical inspection


Street Stock 30-Lap Feature

1. (21) Roger Pitts

2. (22) Dan Moore

3. (03) Kevin Eby

4. (5) Mike Newton

5. (64) Marshall Sutton

6. (16) Jonathan Smith

7. (69) Trey Buff

8. (84) Jared Broadbent

9. (14) Sam Thompson

10. (40) Roy Smith

WrenchRags 4-Cylinder 25-Lap Feature

1. (21) Todd Harrington

2. (18) Devon Haun

3. (16) Randy Freeze

4. (8) Chandler Levan

5. (3) Donnie Harmon

6. (51) Nathaniel Kanupp

7. (98) Rob Lewis

Pro-Cup Mini Karts 30-Lap Feature

1. (11) Darly Mason

2. (18) Steve Teter

3. (88) Tyler Baird

4. (52) Gavin Jenkins

5. (6) Kenny Armstrong

6. (45) Jeremy Dean

7. (2) Gerald Frybarger *

*Disqualified after failure to pass post race technical inspection

Close Window