LeFevers Claims Fifth Victory of the Season

By: Laura Finley


(Hickory, N.C. – June 11, 2011) Fans gathered for another night of stock car racing at Hickory Motor Speedway as AT&T presented the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series. After a brief pause due to heavy rain and hail, racing continued throughout the night as the seemingly unstoppable Jesse LeFevers collected his fifth win of the season in the Bojangles Late Model division. Waylon Flynn brought home the checkers in the Limited Late Model feature while Clint Fields won both Twin-25 Super Truck features. Roger Pitts (Street Stock) and Greg Austin (Renegades) both took the checkers for their respective divisions.

The No. 43 of Jesse LeFevers continued to dominate the Bojangles Late Model division, quickly pulling away from the field after the green flag flew. The first two cars increased their distance from the rest of the field with every lap run, as all eyes were on the battle for third between the No. 88 of Josh Wright and the No. 5 of Dexter Canipe Jr. The two battled side-by-side throughout the night until the No. 12 of Austin McDaniel took advantage of the situation and pulled alongside Canipe Jr., moving into third on lap 25. With one lap to go, McDaniel challenged Wright for second, but was unable to make the pass in time. For the fifth time this season, LeFevers took the checkered flag after leading the field from start-to-finish. Wimbish finished second followed by McDaniel in third.

The Limited Late Models got off to a rough start as the caution flag flew before the first lap could be put in the books. The No. 72 of Jason Cochran, the No. 54 of Jen Crossman and the No. 18 of Casey Pierce all sustained damaged to their cars from the incident, the rest of the field was brought to a stop on the backstretch as the red flag came out and the clean-up crew made their way on the track. Once green flag racing got under way for the second time, the No. 51 of Waylon Flynn pulled ahead of the field with the No. 90 of Pietro Fittapaldi settling into second. Further back, the No. 5 of Jared Fryer and the No. 07 of Tyler Church raced side-by-side for fifth with Church moving into fifth on lap 13. On lap 26, the No. 11 of Matt Piercy reeled in Fittapaldi arriving on his back bumper and making the pass to the inside. Fittapaldi would continue to fall back to fourth after the No. 7 of Justin Crider made the pass for third. Flynn finished first with Piercy in second and Crider in third.

In the first Super Trucks race of the night, the No. 16 of Clint Fields paced the field to the green flag. Fields quickly extended his lead as the No. 09 of Mark Johnson challenged the No. 6 of Brandon Setzer, taking second on lap three. The two cars continued to battle early on as Setzer later regained the second position. Before the field could take the checkers, rain set in, bringing out the black flag. An hour later, with the track dry and the fans back in the stands, the trucks returned to the track. A tight battle for third ensued as Johnson and the No. 28 of Jason Crouse raced side-by-side. Crouse held on to third, pulling away with the field settling into position behind him. Fields went on to take the win followed by Johnson in second and Crouse in third.

Clint Fields closed the night with his second win in the Twin-25 Super Truck features. Although Fields led the field to the green flag, Setzer quickly took first. Back-to-back cautions were brought out on lap two and lap four, allowing Fields to recover and take over first on lap five. The rest of the race was relatively quiet as the field settled into position. Fields took first with Setzer second and Crouse third.

The No. 21 of Roger Pitts II was first to cross the finish line in the Street Stocks division. After leading the field to the green flag, Pitts II continued to lead throughout the race, unchallenged. On lap one, the No. 1 of David Snyder came to rest on the backstretch bringing out the first caution flag of the race. The No. 03 of Kevin Eby was on a mission early-on, moving through the field to third on lap 20. Two laps later, the second caution of the night came with the No. 84 of Jared Broadbent the only one involved. Eby would continue with his momentum, taking second from the No. 22 of Dan Moore on lap 28. Moore refused to back down, overtaking Eby for second just as the checkered flag flew.

The No. 16 of Carroll McKinney was the top qualifier in the Red Baron Renegades division and led the field to the green flag. The lead was short-lived as the No. 4 of Greg Austin quickly moved up from fourth to take the first position on lap six. The first caution flag of the race flew on lap 14 as a car spun in turn four. A battle for second between the No. 5 of Dillon Crouch and the No. 75 of Trey Pitts occurred in the later half of the race with Crouch successfully taking the position just as back-to-back cautions were brought out on lap 17 and lap 19. Austin was the race winner with Crouch in second and Pitts in third.

Racing action continues next week at “America's Most Famous Short Track” as Bojangles presents Church Night at the Races. The event will feature the Bojangles Late Models, Limited Late Models, Street Stocks, WrenchRag 4-Cylinders, Hobby Stocks and Ford Focus Midgets.


Hickory Motor Speedway Top Qualifiers

Bojangles Late Models: No. 43 - Jesse LeFevers – 15.375 seconds

Limited Late Models: No. 51 - Waylon Flynn – 16.045 seconds

Super Trucks #1 : No. 16 - Clint Fields – 16.027 seconds

Super Trucks #2: No. 16 - Clint Fields – 16.091 seconds

Street Stocks: No. 21 - Roger Pitts II – 17.160 seconds

Red Baron Renegades: No. 16 - Carroll McKinney– 19.203 seconds

Unofficial NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Race Results

Bojangles Late Model 50-lap feature

  1. (43) Jesse LeFevers
  2. (57) Grant Wimbish
  3. (12) Austin McDaniels
  4. (5) Dexter Canipe Jr.
  5. (19) Kyle Moon
  6. (88) Josh Wright
  7. (35) Devin Jones
  8. (94) Brad Cox
  9. (28) Sammy Jasper
  10. (77) Jeremy Sorel
  11. (15) Shawn Sharkey
  12. (11) Robert Johnson
  13. (8) Dallas Montes
  14. (2) Tayla Orleans
  15. (01) Trey Gibson

Limited Late Model 35-lap Feature

  1. (51) Waylon Flynn
  2. (11) Matt Piercy
  3. (7) Justin Crider
  4. (90) Pietro Fittapaldi
  5. (07) Tyler Church
  6. (5) Jared Fryar
  7. (12) Annabeth Barnes
  8. (14) Nicholas Drake
  9. (21) Monty Cox
  10. (15) Sheflon Clay
  11. (07B) Josh Bralley
  12. (72) Jason Cochran
  13. (37) Chris Phipps
  14. (32) Jeremy Harrell
  15. (19) Benji Woodward
  16. (09) Trevor Hignutt
  17. (9) Charlie Watson
  18. (54) Jen Crossman
  19. (18) Casey Pierce

Super Truck 25-Lap Feature #1

  1. (16) Clint Fields
  2. (6) Brandon Setzer
  3. (28) Jason Crouse
  4. (09) Mark Johnson
  5. (07) Jacob Marlowe
  6. (09) Scott Whitaker
  7. (5) Tyler Hudson
  8. (33) Jeremy Birch
  9. (03) Kerry Lawrence

Super Truck 25-Lap Feature #2

  1. (16) Clint Fields
  2. (6) Brandon Setzer
  3. (28) Jason Crouse
  4. (07) Jacob Marlowe
  5. (33) Jeremy Birch
  6. (09) Mark Johnson
  7. (5) Tyler Hudson
  8. (09) Scott Whitaker

Street Stock 35-Lap Feature

  1. (21) Roger Pitts II
  2. (22) Dan Moore
  3. (03) Kevin Eby
  4. (16) Jonathan Smith
  5. (64) Marshall Sutton
  6. (99) Roy Smith
  7. (17) Baron Kuritzky
  8. (5) Mike Newton
  9. (14) Sam Thompson
  10. (51) Dustin Walker
  11. (84) Jared Broadbent
  12. (1) David Snyder
  13. (42) Terrence Tucker

Red Baron Renegade 20-Lap Feature

  1. (4) Greg Austin
  2. (5) Dillon Crouch
  3. (75) Trey Pitts
  4. (11) Tim Childers
  5. (14) Eddie Russ
  6. (10) Joseph Hodges
  7. (16) Carroll McKinney
  8. (6) Darren Dickinson
  9. (68) Steve Griffith


Close Window