Poole Takes the First Victory of the 2011 Season for UARA

Hickory, NC (3/12/11)—Brennan Poole takes the checkered flag in the season opener at Hickory Motor Speedway on Saturday, March 12 for the UARA series. This brings Poole his 7th career win with the UARA and his 1st win with his new team, which he joined three months ago. Grabbing the lead early in the race, he led the most laps.

Rookie George Miedecke had a very impressive run after qualifying 11th, and working his way through the field to finish a well deserving second. Miedecke's team owner NASCAR star Marcos Ambrose was on hand to encourage and guide Miedecke's efforts. Ambrose had plenty to be proud of with the performance Miedecke delivered before an impressive season opening crowd at the famed Hickory Motor Speedway. Miedecke was awarded the Rookie of the Race award for his effort.

Sunoco pole sitter Kyle Grissom finished third, after making a record breaking qualifying run for the UARA at HMS with a qualifying time of 14.997. The previous record was held by Matt McCall, set in March of 2005 at 15.023. Grissom was the only car of the thirty on hand who qualified in the 14 second range.

The race started clean, but as time ticked away, the patience wore off and the first caution came out on lap 32. The UARA's youngest Rookie Jesse Little spun out in turn two. Joey Herques of Houma, LA benefitted from this caution and received the lucky dog pass.

Florida flash Jessica Murphy who showed muscle during practice early in the day was the second caution as she spun coming out of turn four. Murphy may have had a little help from a fellow competitor as the fender rubbing; paint swapping competition was at full speed.

After a great save in turn 1, Becca Kasten's problems got worse as she spun out a couple of laps later in turn four bringing out the third caution of the night. Kasten may have been slightly tapped by Joey Herques due to the close racing that was going on all around the speedway. As Kasten spins, Brandon Rogers, Herques, Brandon Knupp, and Julia Dawson all get piled up along with Kasten. The hard contact left Herques right front fender lying on the speedway. Herques team did a great job at taping up the car and getting it back out onto the track.

Caution four flew as new comer Candace Muzny gets spun around in turn two along with Dawson and Scott Turlington. All cars seem to have minor damage and continued racing after a trip down pit road. Knupp got the lucky dog, but would find himself in the middle of another caution.

Knupp, Clint King, Murphy, and Turlington got all turned around coming out of turn four on lap 121 bringing out caution flag number five. Robert Johnson, who was right behind these cars, did an amazing job at avoiding the wreck. Johnson had just enough space to squeeze through the wrecked cars on top and bottom of the track. Knupp's car was done for the night as the safety crew hooked up his car to tow it back to his trailer. The field was red flagged at this time to allow the track to be thoroughly cleaned.

With only twenty laps to go Jeremy Burns gets hard into the turn three wall with some help from Austin McDaniel bringing out caution number six. McDaniel was given a stop and go penalty for rough driving by UARA officials. The pace car stopped the field on the back stretch for the second time so the track officials could get everything in order for green flag racing.

The seventh and last caution of the night was due to Brandon Dean slamming hard into the wall in turn 3. With this last caution, Poole led a hungry field around for the final stages of this race. When the pace car finally got off the track the racers had only three laps to battle it out. Miedecke was all over Poole, but just ran out of time.

David “The Rocket” Roberts was voted as the Holley Performer of the Race for having a great run. Roberts had a 22nd place qualifying run and battled his way up to 6th by the time the checkered flag flew on lap 150.

All in all it was a beautiful day for the UARA at Hickory for their season opener. History was made and records were broken.






Brennan Poole



George Miedecke



Kyle Grissom



Ronnie Bassett Jr



Alex Yontz



David Roberts



Kaleb Pressley



J.R. Allen



Andy Mercer



Paddy Rodenbeck



Adam Long



Matt DiBenedetto



Scott Turlington



Leigh Caruthers



Harrison Rhodes



Austin McDaniel



Jesse Little



Robert Johnson



Joey Herques



Jessica Murphy



Candace Muzny



Brandon Dean



Jeremy Burns



Clint King



Julia Dawson



Brandon Knupp



Becca Kasten



Brandon Rogers



Chad Finchum



Tyler English

The next stop for the UARA stars is at Concord Speedway on March 26, 2011.

For more info go to www.uara-stars.com


Close Window