Newton, NC………Some people have questioned whether a woman has what it takes to make it in racing. They wonder if there will ever be a woman with the talent, the stamina, and ruthlessness, and the determination to make it to the “Big Leagues”.

Well, wonder no more! Chrissy Wallace is fast proving that she's on her way to the top.

Saturday, September 8 th , Wallace moved another step up the ladder when she claimed her third victory of the year at Hickory Motor Speedway. Starting 8 th in a field of some of the finest Late Model Stocks drivers in the country, she used her head, used her front bumper, and put herself in place to take advantage of the bad luck of others.

Defending Track Champion #29 Andy Loden started upfront after winning his 8th Wynncom Pole Award with a lap time of 15.356 on the .363 banked asphalt oval, on a blistering hot day. Outside front row was rookie #89 David Latour Jr., whose enthusiasm and lead-foot immediately took him to the lead with the drop of the green flag.

Loden and #31 Kyle Grissom began a side-by-side battle that the crowd enjoyed for most of the race. By midway in the event, #21 Lucas Ransone had closed in on the leaders, while Loden slipped back to fourth and Wallace started moving forward.

On lap 31, the #31 of Grissom makes a surprising pit stop under green when he experiences tire problems. Meanwhile, Loden has made his way back to the front, and checks out on the field with a full straightaway lead. It looks like the battle will be for second spot between Latour, Ransone, Wallace, and #01 Roger Powell.

But caution flies again on Lap 44, when suddenly Loden takes a hard right into the Turn Four wall. A wheel had failed, mirroring exactly what had happened on Labor Day Monday's Bobby Isaac Memorial 200, when Matt McCall was leading Loden, and McCall's wheel failure put him into the Turn Four wall.

On the restart, young gun Latour brought the field to the green ahead of Wallace, who had made her way to second, while Powell passed Ransone for third. With two-to-go, a wreck and spin brings out the caution to set the stage for a final green-white-checkers shootout.

Wallace put her experience (and her front bumper) to work on Latour on the restart, to take the lead and take the win. Powell made his move to second, and Latour got his first Top-3 finish. Newcomer #73 Sam Watts came home fourth, and Ransone was fifth.

The results' impact on the season-long points standings show Loden leading Grissom by 46, with #19 Kyle Moon in third, Wallace fourth, and #43 Jesse LeFevers fifth.

In Limited Late Models action, #55 Waylon Flynn took his 6th Pole Award and 4th win of the season on a night with the highest car-count in Limiteds in many years at Hickory Motor Speedway. #44 Jarit Johnson finished second, followed by #4 David Currier Jr. in third, #15 Kenny Brooks fifth, and #94 Josh Wright fifth.

#99 Andrew Carlsen retains the LTD points lead by 20 over Flynn, with Johnson 20 points behind in third.

Advance Auto Parts Super Trucks put on an exciting show for the fans, with #97 Keith Bumgarner taking the win, over Pole Winner #3 Dexter Canipe Jr. #10 Andy Mercer finished third, followed by #01 J. R. Allen fourth, and #69 Trevor Hignutt fifth.

Bumgarner's 4 th win of the season brought him within 10 points of leader Canipe, with only one Advance Auto Parts Super Trucks points race left in the season. Allen retained third place standings, followed by Hignutt fourth, and #09 Scott Whittaker fifth.

Street Stocks action saw #82 Gary Ledbetter Jr. start dead-last and make his way to the front of the pack to take his 10 th win of the season, followed by #64 Marshall Sutton second, #7 Jeff Sparks third, #03 Kevin Eby fourth, and #99 Jonathan Smith fifth. The win moved Ledbetter to second spot in points behind Eby, dropping #42 Terrence Tucker to third, Sparks to fourth, and moved Sutton up to fifth.

#07 Denver Jones took his 5 th win of the season in Hobby Stocks, finishing ahead of #5 Nikki Long, #90 Ronnie Sims third, #00 Dwight Wyatt fourth, and #-1 Ronald Dale McNeil fifth. Jones maintains his points lead in the division, with McNeil moving up to second, #98 Wesley Sain third, Sims fourth, and #11 Jimmy Whisnant fifth.

Hickory Motor Speedway

ALLSTATE Night at The Races!!




1• 07 Chrissy Wallace

2•  01 Roger Powell

3•  89 David Latour Jr.

4•  73 Sam Watts

5•  21 Lucas Ransone

6•  55 Chris Lawson

7•  83 James Goff

8•  47 Patrick Molesworth

9•  38 Chase Maurer

10•  19 Kyle Moon

11•  34 Josh Goble

12•  33 Patrick McVay

13•  29 Andy Loden Pole

14•  31 Kyle Grissom

15•  54 Kaleb Pressley


1•  55 Waylon Flynn Pole

2•  44 Jarit Johnson

3•  4 David Currier Jr.

4•  15 Kenny Brooks

5•  94 Josh Wright

6•  99 Andrew Carlsen

7•  07 Tyler Church

8•  25 Nick Proffit

9•  26 Tony McKinney

10•  77 Mark Goin

11•  76 Derrick Johnson

12•  1 Kurt Crosbie

13•  9 Kevin Townsend

14•  49 Kyle Bauknecht

15•  75 Eric Evans

16•  05 Danny Chafin

17•  01 Brian Knowles

18•  41 Chris Chapman

19•  67 Amanda Harrell

20•  40 Donovan Kellams

21•  39 Lee Queen

22•  5 Mario Hernandez

23•  28 Jason Crouse


1•  97 Keith Bumgarner

2•  3 Dexter Canipe Jr. Pole

3•  10 Andy Mercer

4•  01 JR Allen

5•  69 Trevor Hignutt

6•  9 Thomas Hartensveld

7•  09 Scott Whittaker

8•  45 Kenneth Pardue

9•  17 Tyler Taft

10•  80 Danny Willard

11•  0 Dana White

12•  23 Danny Henning

13•  66 Bobo Brown


1•  82 Gary Ledbetter Pole

2•  64 Marshall Sutton

3•  7 Jeff Sparks

4•  03 Kevin Eby

5•  99 Jonathan Smith

6•  42 Terrence Tucker

7•  66 Scott Wallace

8•  71 Robert Divanna

9•  05 Jeff Byers

10•  29 Joey Everhart

11•  17 Chris Kidd

12•  10 David Blankenship

13•  5 Mike Newton

14•  32 Jeremy Harrell


1•  07 Denver Jones Pole

2•  5 Nikki Long

3•  90 Ronnie Sims

4•  00 Dwight Wyatt

5•  –1 Ronald Dale McNeil

6•  98 David Hasson

7•  71 Randy Berry



Close Window