Garland Coley

A new tradition began during BOJANGLES NIGHT AT THE RACES Saturday night at Hickory Motor Speedway. Feature winners received the honor of drinking Bojangles famous sweet iced tea from "The Bojangles Cup" trophy. At the end
of the "tough" 100- lap BOJANGLES LATE MODEL STOCKS feature it was #59 Coleman Pressley who "earned" that honor. However the words tough and earned inadequately describe the effort he had to apply to win this race.

From the opening green flag, Pressley chased Pole winner #83 Matt McCall until lap 28, when he moved to McCall's inside. They battled side by side for all of 4 laps until Pressley completed the pass for the lead on lap 52.
His good fortune was dashed on a restart 4 laps later when hard contact between Pressley and McCall in turn two caused a melee that involved 6 of the top 7 cars on the leader board. Only #7 Ashley Huffman, running just
behind them in 3rd place, emerged from that pack unscathed, and he assumed the lead. The machines of Pressley, McCall, #07 Chrissy Wallace, #31 Kyle Grissom and #19 Kyle Moon all saw the hook or pit road. #87 Owen Kelly
remained on track in 2nd place. When the cleanup was completed, Pressley returned to action in 8th place with a battered left side.

Meanwhile, points leader #29 Andy Loden had pitted his machine on lap 52 with a souring motor. The lap 56 caution gave his team time to fix the problem and he returned to the battle 4 laps down and finished 12th.

On the restart, Huffman pulled out to a 3-second lead on the field. Meanwhile Pressley began to charge his way back through the field, taking 2nd place on lap 72. However, a large expanse of asphalt separated him from
leader Ashley Huffman. That changed 4 laps later when the caution flag waved for a wreck in turn 2 involving #89 David Latour Jr. and #11 Rob Fuller. This set up a frantic battle to the finish.

As the green flag waved, Pressley began applying savage pressure to Huffman, however Huffman did not waver as he protected the inside lane that Pressley had used throughout the race. Then Pressley moved to the outside
groove, and on lap 91 completed the winning pass.
Huffman held on for 2nd, while Australian Owen Kelly took 3rd. Chrissy Wallace rebounded from the lap 56 incident to finish 4th, and #19 Kyle Moon rounded out the top five.

"That's the best car I've had here since the Bobby Isaac race last year." Pressley commented from Victory Lane. "I don't think I've ever had to drive that hard before."

Loden retained his points lead, after coming back to a 10th place finish, over Grissom in second.  Kyle Moon gained points on the two with a strong Top Five finish, and #43 Jesse Lefevers moved up to fourth in the standings,
followed by Wallace in fifth.

In ADVANCE AUTO PARTS SUPER TRUCKS action, after surviving a tough weekend two weeks back, #3 Dexter Canipe grabbed the pole position and dominated the 35-lap feature. #97 Keith Bumgarner was 2nd, 3rd went to #45 Kenneth Pardue, 4th was #01 J.R. Allen and #69 Trevor Hignutt rounded out the top 5.

Bumgarner continues to lead Super Trucks points standings, but the win by Canipe cut it to only two points.  Allen holds third place by two points over Hignutt, who is two points ahead of Pardue.

In Limited Late Models action, #99 Andrew Carlsen ended #44 Jarit Johnson's 5-race winning streak by taking the lead from #04 Chris Chapman on lap 10 and surviving the challenges of #55 Waylon Flynn to win the 35-lap feature.
Flynn held on for 2nd, while Chapman maintained 3rd. Johnson battled from 9th starting spot to claim 4th, and #4 David Currier Jr. rounded out the top 5.

The win vaulted Carlsen to the top of the points chase, two points ahead of Johnson, with Flynn coming on strong in third.  Fourth place in points Lee Queen had a disappointing birthday night after a hard wreck parked his car
on lap 3 of the event.  #05 Danny Chafin added to his fifth place points with a Top Ten finish.

In exciting Street Stocks action, after race and points leader #82 Gary Ledbetter Jr. parked with engine troubles on lap 8, #7 Jeff Sparks claimed his first feature win of the year, winning the 25-lap feature holding off
#42 Terrence Tucker in 2nd, 3rd went to #03 Kevin Eby, 4th was #64 Marshall Sutton, and #66 Scott Wallace rounded out the top 5.

Eby moved to the top of the class ahead of Ledbetter in points standings, with Sparks gaining in third, Tucker fourth, and Wallace fifth.

In Pro 4's action, #57 Grant Wimbish rebounded from his troubles the previous week and claimed the 25-lap feature in dominating fashion. 2nd went to #16 Randy Freeze, 3rd was #09 Randy Canipe, 4th went to #21 Todd
Harrington and #55 Walter Hoke rounded out the top 5.  Following post-race Tech Inspection, the #09 failed to meet specifications and was disqualified, moving all other finishers up one spot.

Canipe was leading the points going into the event, but the finish dropped him back to fourth in the season-long standings.  Wimbish now leads points going into Hickory Motor Speedway's mid-season break, followed by Harrington
in second, Hoke third, Canipe fourth, and Freeze fifth.
Hickory Motor Speedway would like to thank you for coming out and making BOJANGLES NIGHT AT THE RACES a success, and we invite you back next Saturday for "The Floyd Weaver Memorial 150" ISCARS DASH SERIES event.

FORD FOCUS MIDGETS and SOUTHEAST MINI CUP competitors will also be on hand for the action. We thank you fans and all our competitors for continuing the 57-year tradition of excellence here at "America's Most Famous Short Track." "The Birthplace of the NASCAR Stars." Hickory Motor Speedway.

Hickory Motor Speedway
BOJANGLES' Night at the Races!

1. 59 Coleman Pressley
2. 7 Ashley Huffman
3. 87 Owen Kelly
4. 07 Chrissy Wallace
5. 19 Kyle Moon
6. 42 Todd Goble
7. 33 Patrick McVay
8. 11 Rob Fuller
9. 43 Jesse LeFevers
10. 29 Andy Loden
11. 89 David Latour Jr.
12. 31 Kyle Grissom
13. 83 Matt McCall Pole
14. 44 Ben Ebeling
15. 71 Brandon Weber
16. 72 Paul Adams
17. 17 Kyle Mansch
18. 28 Mark Johnson
19. 16 Mack Little III
20. 69 Andrew Thomas
21. 15 Jon Larkin
22. 38 Chase Maurer

1. 99 Andrew Carlsen
2. 55 Waylon Flynn
3. 04 Chris Chapman   Pole
4. 44 Jarit Johnson
5. 4 David Currier Jr.
6. 07 Tyler Church
7. 94 Josh Wright
8. 21 Chad Eades
9. 72 Jason Cochran
10. 05 Danny Chafin
11. 67 Amanda Harrell
12. 75 Eric Evans
13. 13 Jon Vivo
14. 39 Lee Queen
15. 25 Nick Proffit

1. 3 Dexter Canipe Jr. Pole
2. 97 Keith Bumgarner
3. 45 Kenneth Pardue
4. 01 JR Allen
5. 69 Trevor Hignutt
6. 03 Kerry Lawrence
7. 36 Thomas Hartensveld
8. 6 Waylon Flynn
9. 09 Scott Whittaker
10. 9 Joey King
11. 15 Wendell Duggins
12. 23 Danny Henning
13. 17 Tyler Taft

1. 7 Jeff Sparks
2. 42 Terrence Tucker
3. 03 Kevin Eby
4. 64 Marshall Sutton
5. 66 Scott Wallace
6. 32 Jeremy Harrell
7. 99 Jonanthan Smith
8. 5 Mike Newton
9. 51 Chris Allison
10. 71 Robert Divanna
11. 89 Chris Greco
12. 82 Gary Ledbetter Jr.          Pole

1. 57 Grant Wimbish Pole
2. 16 Randy Freeze
3. 21 Todd Harrington
4. 55 Walter Hoke
5. 7 Chris Allison
6. 98 Rob Lewis
7. 75 Curtis Pardue
8. 09 Randy Canipe DQ



Close Window