Newton, NC… Andy Loden jumped to the head of the class taking over the points lead in the Bojangles' Late Model Stocks at Hickory Motor Speedway.

After starting outside Pole, Loden again found the high-groove to his liking and notched his 9 th win of the year on Saturday, August 19 th

2004 HMS Track Champion Matt McCall started on the Pole after setting a speed of 15.088 seconds around the historic .363 mile banked asphalt oval. McCall finished second after a hard-fought battle with #21 Brian Connor, who reached the checkers in third place.

#10 Andy Mercer finished fourth and retains his fourth place in points, while #32 Kevin Leicht was fifth, and dropped from the points lead to 2 nd place…only 2 points back of Loden.

#59 Coleman Pressley retained his third place points standing, with a sixth place finish.

With only 2 points races remaining in the 2006 season, the Bojangles' Late Model Stocks Track Championship is still up for grabs. The Top Four in points are separated by a mere 18 points.

Other divisions racing Saturday included the Limited Late Models, Advance Auto Parts Super Trucks, Pro-4's, J&J Roofing Street Stocks, and Pro-Challenge Series cars. With a tight points chase in all divisions and the points season getting close to the end, there was hard racing and exciting action in all divisions.

#92 Marc Davis took his 6 th Denver Marine Pole Award of the year, but the spotlight was on #43 Jesse LeFevers when LeFevers took his first win in Limited Late Models. Davis finished a very close second in the event, followed by #44x Jarit Johnson in third. #21 Chad Eades was fourth and #55 Johnny Reynolds Sr. was fifth. The points chase took a interesting turn after wrecks and rain caused the event to be halted for over an hour. Two of the top four in points were involved in a major wreck just before the clouds opened up: points leader #44 Matt DiBenedetto and 2 nd in points #10 Andy Mercer. Mercer was able to continue after major repairs, but DiBenedetto's car was damaged beyond repair. Mercer took over the points lead with a sixth place finish, with Davis moving up to second place, and DiBenedetto dropping back to third. The Top Three are separated by only 6 points, with 2 points races remaining.

Pro-4's action saw #86 Randy Freeze take his 2 nd Pole Award and 3 rd win of the season, followed by Waylon Flynn driving the #21 of Todd Harrington. #09 Randy Canipe finished third, ahead of #57 Grant Wimbish fourth, and #4 Adam Beaver fifth. Beaver retained the points lead in the division.

Advance Auto Parts Super Trucks had a familiar face taking the Pole Award, and a familiar face in Victory Lane. #24 Ben Stancill led the field to the green flag for the 6 th time this year, but #16 Mack Little III led them to the checkers for his 3 rd win of the season. #6 Cole Miktuk was second, followed by #44 Ben Ebeling in third, #09 Scott Whittaker fourth, and #45 Kenneth Pardue fifth. Stancill retained the points lead, ahead of Ebeling, #69 Trevor Hignutt, Pardue, and Miktuk.

J&J Roofing Street Stocks put on one of the finest Street Stocks races witnessed at HMS in many years. #32 Gary Ledbetter Jr. took his 6 th Pole, but #03 Kevin Eby was first to Victory Lane with his third win of the year. #42 Terrance Tucker finished second, followed by #08 Monty Cox in third, #7 Jeff Sparkes fourth, and #40 David Smith fifth. Ledbetter kept his points lead over #54 Waylon Flynn, with Eby gaining points in third, #64 Marshall Sutton fourth, and Tucker fifth in points.

The Pro-Challenge Series saw #5 Martin Arender take the Pole and the win in their action-filled event. #20 Jon Stancill finished second, followed by #17 Justin Morton third, #03 Kenny Forbes fourth, and #99 Donathan Chandler fifth.

The next racing event at Hickory Motor Speedway will be on Sunday, August 27, when the PASS Super Late Models compete in the “Over the Mountain 150!” PASS will be joined by the INEX 600 Racing Legends cars, the Pro-Challenge Series, and a special race from the “Redneck Racers”.


Close Window