By Sherry H. Clifton and Dillon Houser

Saturday, April 29 th , saw another new driver in Bojangle's Late Model Stocks Victory Lane at the historic Hickory Motor Speedway, when #32 Kevin Leicht took the trophy after a thrilling 50-lap guts-show.

After taking the Pole Position with a 15.157 second qualifying lap, young Leicht had his work cut out for him against 21 of the best Late Model drivers in the country. But when the checkers flew, Leicht had notched the first LMS win of his career and became the fourth winner in four LMS races of the 2006 NDWS racing season at Hickory.

“I'm a first-time winner!” Leicht said in Victory Lane. “ It's so hard to win with all this competition at Hickory Motor Speedway!” Leicht went on to thank his sponsors, his family, his competitors, and the fans in a joyous post-race celebration.

The first-place finish moved Leicht up to second place in the points standings, just two points behind defending Champ #95 Keith Bumgarner. #54 Brandon Dean, after a disappointing qualifying run, made his way up through the field to finish 11 th , dropping him from 2 nd to 3 rd in points. #10 Andy Mercer remained 4 th in points, with #41 Jesus Hernandez and #59 Coleman Pressley tied for fifth.

Limited Late Models put on a great show with #92 Marc Davis becoming the first two-time winner of the year, after starting on the Pole. #44 Matt DiBenedetto was second, followed by #10 Andy Mercer, #12 Dennis Gallion, and #28 newcomer Keith Bishop.

Advance Auto Parts Super Trucks saw #97 Kevin Bumgarner take his first win of the 2006 season after a hard-fought battle with pole-sitter #69 Trevor Hignutt and last-week's winner #24 Ben Stancill. Hignutt finished second, followed by Stancill, rookie #6 Cole Miktuk, and defending Super Trucks Champ #12 Robin Harris. The finish ties Stancill and Hignutt for the division points lead.

J&J Roofing Street Stocks had their third winner in three races when #03 Kevin Eby took the trophy. #32 Gary Ledbetter Jr. came home second, followed by pole-sitter #54 Waylon Flynn, #42 Terrence Tucker, and #40 David Smith. Ledbetter retains the points lead in the division.

Hobby Stocks saw their biggest field of the year and saw #5 Nikki Long take the win. Defending Champ #73 David Hasson finished second, followed by #3 Tim Reece, #10 Wayne Reece, and #90 Ronnie Sims. Tim Reece took the points lead after #14 Michael Sidden failed post-race inspection.

Close Window